Taking Stock

I returned home one evening to find that a friendly reminder of my outstanding student debt had arrived in the post. These things always make me wonder briefly what the alternative dimension of me not going to university looks like (apart from being £12,000 better off), and whether the experience was truly worth it. But then the memories, the stories, and the friends soon come roaming into view and well, I know it really wasn’t such bad value after all.

This poem, scribbled spontaneously on the statement I received, echoes fleeting doubts.

I owe a lot of money,

A lot of money indeed

Give me gold, silver, and bronze,

Not education, debate or thought!

Why work towards my future when I can get what I want now?

Is it really worth it?

Do I really trust

That university is there for my development,

Or is it just a “BALANCE CARRIED FORWARD”?

.

Leave a Reply

